Crochet Pattern – Dinosaur Hat

Continuing on with the story of my homemade gifts from last Christmas, I made my middle nephew (who was six years old at the time) a dinosaur hat.

Again, I wasn’t thinking of taking pictures of what I had made at the time, but my mother was nice enough to take photos of the hat a year later while she was visiting the kids in Savannah this past Christmas. I can tell from the picture that the hat has gotten a lot of wear, so that makes me pretty happy.

This hat is a little difficult to blog about, because I actually purchased the pattern for this so I can’t post it. I purchased them from Mamachee (Etsy shop is here), and I am so glad I did. All of the patterns I have access to from Mamachee are fantastic. If there are ever free patterns available from her, I save them whether or not I have intentions of making whatever the pattern is for, because I know it’ll be a great pattern and I just might make it anyway.

I purchased several patterns from Mamachee’s Etsy shop on an “any 5 patterns for $17.50” deal she was running several years ago and I knew it would be worth it. I had one pattern specifically I wanted at the time, but I purchased four more on speculation that I would eventually use them. And now I have used most of them and I am SO glad I picked them up.

For this hat I started with the Super Easy Cloche Brim Hat (link to purchase pattern is here) using Wool-Ease Thick & Quick in Grass because this pattern calls for bulky weight yarn. I made the “child” size and it worked out very well for a six-year-old, now a seven-year-old.

dino-hat-front-view

The spikes I made using one of the patterns from the assorted embellishments package pattern that I also picked up in the bundle deal from Mamachee (link to Etsy shop here). I used one of my go-tos, Caron Simply Soft, because this pattern calls for worsted weight yarn.

dino-hat-side-view

Both the cloche brim hat and the spikes were easy to make, and the directions were clear and well-written. I’m very happy with how the whole thing turned out!

three-kids-hats

Leave a Reply

