Crochet Pattern – Kitty Ear Beanie

It’s a very important weekend in America, so I’m doing something that I don’t usually do and making a political statement. I won’t get into the reasons why, but suffice it to say that I’m a single, independent female and feminist. So I’m a little stressed out about our President-Elect becoming Supreme Leader.

As I was discussing the anxiety of the times with people who have a lot more at stake than I do, I felt more and more strongly that I should do something to show my support. So I stopped at Michael’s on the way home from work today and picked up some yarn. I had looked online at some patterns and found one that looked quick and easy that required bulky yarn. Maybe it’s because so many other people were making pussy hats, but I had a hard time finding bulky pink yarn that I really liked. So I went for a purple-y pink mottled yarn color called “Berries” (I had a hard time photographing it with my phone in a light that really does the color justice).

pussy-hat-2

And, of course, since it’s a WILD Friday night, crocheting involves beer and kitty cuddles. I know, my life is REALLY exciting right now!

pussy-hat-1

But really, I’m still getting over this cold. So I begged off some social invitations, bailed on the gym, and came straight home to crochet. And I’m going to bed as soon as I’m done with this post. Or maybe just after I have another Hot Toddy 😉

There are a LOT of patterns circulating online right now for pussy hats, many of them free, but the ones that I saw that I liked the most were on Ravelry. It’s free to sign up, but if you have an account you have access to so many great patterns, so I recommend you do it if you haven’t already.

The pattern I found that I liked the most is this Kitty Ear Beanie by Cayla Mullins. I liked the texture of this pattern, as well as the ribbed band.

pussy-hat-3

Kitty Ear Beanie

Materials:

  • Bulky weight yarn (I used probably about 130-140 yards)
  • 9mm (M) crochet hook
  • Yarn needle big enough to handle bulky-weight yarn

 

Directions:

Row 1: Ch 44. Join with sl st to first ch to form a circle. Turn

Row 2: Ch 3; dc in each stitch around. Join with sl st to top of beginning ch 3. Turn.

Rows 3-4: Ch 3, fpdc (front-post double crochet) in first st. Bpdc (back-post double crochet) in next. Repeat alternating fpdc and bpdc around. Join to top of ch 3. Turn.

Rows 5-16: Ch 2, hdc in each st around. Join to top of ch 2. Turn.

Once you’ve completed Row 16, cut yarn leaving a long tail. Turn hat inside-out and either sew (whip stitch works best) or sc across the opening to close up the top of the hat. Weave in ends.

pussy-hat-4
Two different dye-lots. I hope it doesn’t show in daylight…

I don’t know what I was thinking, but I only bought one skein of yarn initially. I thought “that looks like enough”. I shouldn’t do as many of my errands after work, especially on Fridays, because my brain is FRIED by then from the week. Oy.

Anyway, fortunately the fact that I had come home so early meant that by the time I ran out of yarn the craft store was still open. So I grabbed the label for dye-lot matching and hopped in the car. UNfortunately, there were no more of the same dye-lot. So I had to try to match the color as closely as possible from memory. I know it’s not perfect, but it’s PRETTY close; right?

I was happy with how quickly the hat worked up, how easy the directions were to follow, and how the final product turned out. I’ll be wearing mine in support tomorrow! Happy crafting!

pussy-hat-5

Leave a Reply

