Drink Recipe – Blackberry-Lemon Gin & Tonic

By the end of September 2012 I was starting to get a reputation both with the family I was living with and with my Facebook friends for making fun and interesting cocktails. I didn’t have a lot of other stuff going on in Savannah at that time, so I really got into it! I kept Pinning, researching, and testing drink recipes.

drink-recipe-books
The famous recipe books

I was traveling quite a bit at this point as well, and people that I stayed with and visited started to expect that I would bring my drink recipe book and entertain with some cocktails. I liked having a variety of recipes so I could look at what my friends/hosts had on hand and whip something up, but sometimes I would show up with a cocktail in mind and key ingredients in hand.

Compiling all of these recipes involved testing some of them out first (both to get a feel for the flavors and practice mixing different types of drinks), so I would sometimes do homework.

shopping-trip
A successful shopping trip! September 28, 2012. Testing specific drink recipes that weekend (and picking up my favorite Patron XO Cafe)

The blackberries in the above photo were purchased specifically to try a recipe I had come across on Pinterest for Blackberry-Lemon Gin & Tonics. They looked so delicious and refreshing (and it’s still HOT in Savannah in the end of September!) so I just had to put them in the rotation. Which meant testing them out.

This recipe was posted on Pinterest by Spoon Fork Bacon (link to website here), and I made it on September 28, 2012.

 

Blackberry-Lemon Gin & Tonics

3 blackberries

5 mint leaves

juice of 1/2 a Meyer lemon

1 tablespoon simple syrup

2 ounces gin

tonic water

Put blackberries, mint leaves, lemon juice, and simple syrup in a highball glass and muddle together. Fill glass with ice, add the gin, then top with tonic water. Stir and serve.

 

These were delicious! I definitely need to remember to make these again, and I definitely recommend them. Cheers!

blackberry-lemon-gin-tonics

Leave a Reply

