Drink Recipe – Union Square Cocktail

Another winner from the New Amsterdam Facebook posts! Again, I can find no record of it on any of New Amsterdam’s websites, but I did find it here on the Cocktails, 365 blog. I made it on September 13, 2012, and it was so good that we had a second round of them! When trying to convince my sister to have a second (she usually is one-and-done when it comes to liquor), I started chanting “Union Square” and the kids chimed in and the dogs got all excited! So she gave in and we had seconds, and really enjoyed ourselves.

 

Union Square Cocktail

2 strawberries

sprig of basil

2 ounces of gin

1/2 ounce lime juice

1/2 ounce lemon juice

1 ounce simple syrup or agave nectar

 

Muddle strawberries with basil until fully mashed, then add all other ingredients and shake vigorously with ice. Strain into a martini glass and garnish with half a strawberry. (Again, I’m lazy and just made these right in the glasses because we don’t mind mashed fruit in our drinks!)

As in other recipes, I made these right in the glass rather than using a shaker. It’s partly because I’m lazy and don’t want to dirty a shaker that I’d then have to wash, and partly because we don’t mind mashed fruit in our drinks! But whatever you prefer is up to you.

Cheers!

union-square

Leave a Reply

