Drink Recipe – Five Points Cocktail

Ok, so I said I’d post successes AND failures. This is one that didn’t turn out so well. I won’t say it was a complete failure (I still drank it) but it definitely didn’t turn out like the recipe said, and I wouldn’t make it again without some adjustments.

This was another from when I was on a roll with the cocktails in Savannah, GA on September 11, 2012. I believe this was also from New Amsterdam’s Facebook posts, but can’t find anything online about it now (maybe it didn’t stand up to testing for them either, and they pulled it down).

 

Five Points Cocktail

1 1/2 ounces gin

2 1/2 ounces orange juice

2 1/2 ounces cola

1/4 ounces lemon juice

 

Fill a pilsner or highball glass with ice. Pour in gin, cola, and lemon juice, then float the orange juice. Garnish with a thick orange wheel.

 

I only had Coke Zero on hand, and I’m not a huge fan of diet soda so maybe this ruined the flavor for me (I’m one of those weirdos who can taste aspartame, so diet drinks always taste a bit like chemicals for me). And maybe the buoyancy of Coke Zero is different from regular cola. Either way, the float didn’t work (as you can see in the picture), and this didn’t taste very good to me. Which is a shame, because I like all of the ingredients except cola (I occasionally like Coke, but for the most part I’m not a huge fan).

 

If you decide to try this, I recommend trying it with regular Coke and let me know how it goes. Otherwise, just skip the cola altogether and enjoy a nice, citrusy Gin & Orange.

Cheers!

five-points

Leave a Reply

